Special Education



 
ACPS Special Education documents

Restraint and Seclusion Documentation

Services and Resources for the Hearing or Visually Impaired

Special Education Resources

Virginia Special Education Disability Categories and Criteria

 

Additional Resources: External Web Links

 

To learn more about referring a student for an evaluation for eligibility for Special Education, click here.
To learn more about Special Education, click here to download"A Parent's Guide to Special Education" (PDF)



Dr. Elizabeth V. Heath is the Director of Special Education for Alleghany County Public Schools.

Dr. Heath may be contacted by phone at 540-863-1809 or by e-mail at eheath@alleghany.k12.va.us.





Mrs. Deborah Henderson is the Administrative Assistant to the Director of Special Education.

Mrs. Henderson may be contacted by phone at 540-863-1809 or by e-mail at dhenderson@alleghany.k12.va.us.



Special Services Staff

Tamyra Ross, Visiting Teacher
Phone: 540-863-1810
tross@alleghany.k12.va.us

Tiffany Yancey, School Psychologist
Phone: 540-863-1810
tyancey@alleghany.k12.va.us
                    
 

                                 Additional Special Education Staff

Vision Service Coordinator:  Gwyn Suttell  gsuttell@alliedinstructional.com

Blindness and Visually Impairments Teacher: Ashley Froy  afroy@alliedinstructional.com

Orientation and Mobility Instructor: Lisa Auwarter  lauwarter@alliedinstructional.com 

Hearing Service Provider: Mike Copeland
mcopeland@alliedinstructional.com